2023 Rugby World Cup in France | Update

The Haka
France 2023 Rugby World Cup Logo
Match with the French team "Les Bleus"
Press release

The next Rugby World Cup will take place In France from Friday, September 8 to Saturday, October 28, 2023. During that period, 20 countries will compete in over 45 matches, in nine French cities and venues. The opening match will be in Saint-Denis--a close suburb of Paris—at the grand Stade de France. A match that should be very exciting since it will pit the home team known as “Les Bleus” and the formidable “All Blacks,” a.k.a France and New Zealand.

Based on their performance at the 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan, 12 countries directly qualified for next year’s big event: South Africa—the defending world champion Springboks, England, Wales, New Zealand, Australia, Ireland, Japan, France, Scotland, Italy, Argentina and Fiji.

The United States has not yet qualified but was recently awarded for first time the Men’s Rugby World Cup in 2031 and the Women’s Rugby World Cup in 2033.

As mentioned earlier, this electrifying event will take place in nine cities throughout France – see below for the cities and venues.


Marion Fourestier - Director of Communications
Atout France USA, The France Tourism Development Agency