FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Nogent-sur-Seine, March 9, 2017 – The very first Camille Claudel Museum officially opened to the public on March 26th, 2017** in Nogent-sur-Seine. This is an important and unique cultural event where the public will have access to the world’s biggest collection of works by Camille Claudel.
Camille Claudel’s calling as a sculptor developed in Nogent-sur-Seine, while she was living there from 1876 to 1879, when her father helmed the position of registrar of mortgages. At 12 years old, Camille Claudel discovered clay, and developed her artistic skills. At the advice of the sculptor Alfred Boucher, Camille Claudel continued her work and sought mentorship under the best sculptor of her age, Auguste Rodin.
Today,the museum takes on a whole new dimension. Visitors can become intimately acquainted with the work of Camille Claudel. Every room of this museum is in line with the remarkable scientific and cultural project through its educational aspect: understanding the place of sculpture in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, the emulation of great artists and Camille Claudel’s passion.
The architect is Adelfo Scaranello's approach is to develop the aspects of a building that are linked to local characteristics, hence his “measured architecture” for the specific site of the Musée Camille Claudel. Built up against the ‘Claudel house’,the three-storey building with large plate-glass windows, imagined by the architect as “a lighthouse visible by day as well as by night”, adds different volumes.It uses the local brick that is a feature of the neighboring houses.
The museum in figures:
• 250 works
• 8 documentary films
• A building covering 2,645 sq m
• Permanent exhibition space: 983 sq m
• Temporary exhibition space: 300 sq m
For more information please visit: www.museecamilleclaudel.fr **
** The English-language website has not been corrected as to the opening of the museum--which after significant delays did in fact open on March 26, 2017.